The Peace Foundation - Te Tuapapa Rongomau o Aotearoa

Sri Chinmoy Peace Cities

Ten of New Zealand’s municipalities have been dedicated as Peace Cities following a proposal by Sri Chinmoy, an international peacemaker who has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. These Peace Cities link with other Sri Chinmoy Peace Cities around the world.

Sri Chinmoy Peace Cities promote peace and harmony between individuals, in the community and internationally.

Peace City Dedication
Auckland Mayor Les Mills
Hastings Mayor Jeremy Dwyer
Hamilton Mayor Margaret Evans
Manukau Mayor Barry Curtis
Napier Mayor Alan Dick
North Shore North Shore City Council
Palmerston North Mayor Sir Paul Rieger
Taupo Mayor Joan Williamson
Waitakere Mayor Bob Harvey
Wellington Mayor Fran Wilde – rededicated by Mayor Mark Blumsky

In 1995 Wellington Mayor Mark Blumsky unveiled a plaque in Cuba Street Mall noting the dedication of Wellington as a Peace Capital. The plaque notes:

“A world of peace and harmony has been humanity’s dream since time immemorial. In this spirit the peace-loving people of Wellington are proud to dedicate their graceful city as a Sri Chinmoy Peace Capital and join the global family of Sri Chinmoy Peace Blossoms – significant and inspiring places around the world dedicated to world harmony. Such a dedication honours our city’s historic commitment to peace… In dedicating Wellington as a Peace Capital may the spirit of peace spread from person to person and nation to nation and may the day dawn when all people live together as one.”

Donate Now!

Contact Us


Quick links





site by biote.